Snow Mittens

29 10 2012

I know it appears I dropped off the face of the earth a few months ago.  I have been finishing projects, but just haven’t had the time to get on the computer.  I started the embroidery on this pillow in July when we took Nolan to visit Southern Adventist University in Tennessee.  I finished it not long after we returned home.  Because I didn’t intend to use it until after Thanksgiving, it made its way to the store to serve as a sample for a few months.

The pattern is from Sweet Gatherings, but I did make some slight modifications.  I avoid stuffing pillows whenever possible, and because this pillow is a standard size I waited for JoAnn Fabrics to have a 50% off sale.  The back of the pillow is envelope style so I can easily remove the pillow form if I choose.  I also changed the border.  All the pieces are the same length, so they extend into the other border on just one side.