Where Do All the Samples Go?

24 10 2015

Have you ever wondered what happens to all the samples at your favorite quilt shop?  At Ruth’s Stitchery if we make it, it is ours when it has run its course.  After working and teaching there for over four years I’m starting to have a fair collection of samples that have come home.

My house is finally decorated for Fall and a large number of samples have found a spot this year.

image

The table runner draped over the top of the ladder was a sample for the wool felt class I taught for 3 years.  (The pattern can be found at Nutmeg Hare.)  The quilts rolled in the egg basket in back weren’t samples, but were class projects at some point in time.

image

Another table runner from Nutmeg Hare found its way to the top of the buffet.

image

Here’s a better photo.

image

A table mat from Brandywine Design made it home, and onto the top of a can turned end table.

image

The turkey (pattern from The Wooden Bear) was just something to keep me busy while I went to watch my boys in a soccer tournament.  The penny rug below it coordinates perfectly, and that was a sample (the pattern is from Annelle’s Originals).

image

This Harvest Moon Penny Rug (pattern from Penny Lane Primitives) is sitting on my Martha Washington sewing cabinet.

image

This wall hanging found a home on the wall in the stairwell.  (Pattern from Wooden Spool Designs)

image

This pumpkin table runner which I used at one point in time to teach fused applique now resides on the kitchen table. (Pattern from Bloomin Minds)

image

Finally just a shot of the fireplace mantle.  No samples here, just playing around.  You’ve heard of time in a bottle, how about kids in a jar.  OK, I doubt they’d appreciate it, but they are away at college so I can do what I want.

Now you know where some samples go.

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 10 2015
Sue Firks

Ok Sonja, first I want you to come and decorate my house and looking at all this cute stuff you made is making me think I want to do wool😄

24 10 2015
schinn906

Thanks for the fun!

skc ______________________

24 10 2015
Londa

Love the pumpkin penny rug (Annelle’s Originals)! Some day I’m going to try wool felt. Probably after I finish up all these quilts. Ha!!! Ha!!!




