The Reveal

3 09 2015

Are you a person who likes a surprise, or like me do you read the end of the book long before actually progressing to that point?  I admire the people who sign up for a mystery quilt with little to no idea of what to expect for the end result.  I may admire them, but I’m not one of them!  I want to know what I am making!

All this leads up to how I am involved with a mystery quilt.  It’s simple, I choose them and lead them, so yes I do know the  end.  Today is the big reveal .  It is very different from the one we did last year, and the colors might not be for everyone. But, I love how it turned out.

First-Thursday-Mystery-Reveal

I took the photo in a classroom with flourescent lighting so the colors aren’t true.

It seems there are other people wanting to “read the end before it’s time.”  I loaded the tutorial video for putting the whole quilt together last night and when I looked at 6 am there had already been 20 views.

We will be having another mystery beginning Oct.1 and today is the deadline for sign-ups at Ruth’s Stitchery.  Next year’s mystery is quilt blocks A to Z, the only applique is optional at the end, and the fabrics will be mostly from Civil War reproduction lines. Here’s a sneak peek–

First Thursday Sneak

Finally to give credit where it is due, the pattern for this year’s mystery was “Little House in the Garden” by Under the Garden Moon,.

Actions

Information

One response

4 09 2015
Aunt Marti

I’m a “don’t tell me” type — even though I had the last blocks for the quilt, I didn’t look at the “reveal” until it showed up in my in-box. I love the finished quilt, thanks so much for leading this group!




