Sweet Pea Under the Sea

29 03 2014

I finished another sample for the store this week.  The quilt is made from the Sweet Pea pattern by Anka’s Treasures.  I’ve done this pattern before, but this time a made a few minor modifications.  Rather than the throw size with 30 blocks this is a baby size with only 16 blocks.  I fussy cut the centers of each block and instead of the flower from the pattern I made star fish appliques to go with the main fabric.

Under-Sea-Sweet-Pea-FrontI could be called cheap, frugal, or creative but I played with the back (I love pieced backs).  I only bought one width of fabric for the backing and then had to make it larger somehow.  So I pieced scraps from the front.

Under-Sea-Sweet-Pea-Back

 

I used up almost all the remaining fabric from the front for the scrappy binding.  Oh, and the corner stones in the borders on the front were added so I didn’t have to piece the border fabric.

No my blocks are not wavy and neither is the strip on the back, just the result of standing on a chair and hovering over the quilt to take the picture.

The quilt should be at Ruth’s Stitchery next week.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 03 2014
Sandy

Love the baby sized quilt! But especially like the pieced backing. You do amazing things with very little!!

29 03 2014
Sandra Chinn

Love the starfish and pieced back!




