Vintage Friday — Singer Pinker

14 03 2014

Guy and I went antiquing in Florence, Colorado last month right before my birthday.  We found a few fun items.  Today I thought I’d share the Singer ball bearing hand operated Pinker.  I’d at seen them online before (and possibly in antique stores).  The timing on this expedition made me more open to spending the money (thinking a big milestone birthday here).

We found this one with the box, instructions, clamp and pinker.  The box is a little beat up, but the “machine” is in fantastic shape.

Pinker

It just clamps onto a table and then there is an adjustable guide to set for how far away from the edge you want to pink your fabric.  While the machine came with a pinking blade, the directions  say there was an optional Strip Cutter and Trimmer available at any Singer Shop. That blade looks very much like a precursor to rotary cutters.

The box says it is for pinking cloth, felt, oilcloth, leather, etc.  The directions  say it shouldn’t be used on metal.

pinker-2

Since I was taking pictures for you, I thought I’d give it a whirl.

pinker-3It works like a charm!

I don’t know the exact age of this particular machine, but the copyright on the directions is 1933, 1934 and 1935 so sometime after that.

Actions

Information

6 responses

14 03 2014
Sandra Chinn

Thanks for sharing. That was fun!

15 03 2014
Maria

What a wonderful machine that is. I can honestly say I’ve never seen anything like it. Thank you so much for sharing.

16 03 2014
Barbara L.

I love it! It’s so much fun to see what others have used in the past, and some of the tools are really, really neat!
Thanks for sharing!

16 07 2015
Emma Jean Berry

I just went to a sale shop and found this singer pinker, in the box and got it got it for a wopping five dollars . what a steal. Ans it works great
warmbunnie2

5 09 2015
Sonya

Congratulations Emma Jean– what a fantastic find!

25 08 2015
Dottie

Just was checking out your blog and saw this. Showed my 85 yr old mother and she said she had never seen anything like that before. Just wanted to share and say I will be asking to follow your blog!




