Wouldn’t Want to Be Bored

19 06 2013

So you’d think the Blue Jays might be enough to keep me busy during the January/February time frame.  No way!  I taught beginning hand applique in mid February and I wanted a sample from a current book or pattern.  I settled on Pat Sloan’s book Applique a Garden.  The book is written for fused machine applique, but the shapes were great for beginners doing hand applique.  Just a block would have sufficed, but as usual I couldn’t take the easy road.

Beginning-Applique

In class, I taught how to use the Clover Bias Tape Makers for the stems/vines (tutorial included in this post); freezer paper applique for the bowl, flowers, leaves, stars and hearts (covered in this tutorial); and finally starch and press for the circles (learn about that method here).

Then of course it is best to quilt the sample before it is hung, and hand applique deserves interesting quilting.  Here’s a close up of a bit ofquilting.

Beginning-Applique-2

I’m starting to get tired just thinking about the first couple months of the year.

 

Actions

Information

One response

19 06 2013
Sandra Chinn

Isn’t “exhausted” a better word? But it’s all so beautiful I’d love to be around just to get in on the excitement!




