Because I Can!

13 12 2012

If you’ve been following along for a while you are probably aware I like a challenge.  Yep, I’m one of those strange people who actually enjoyed standardized tests in school.  I like to try to figure things out.  Guy will be happy to tell you, I sometimes jump out of bed in the middle of the night just to research something that came to mind.

We were given the assignment to make a place mat for our boss for Christmas.  The unifying aspect for all of these place mats  was to use at least one piece of fabric from the Primitive Gatherings Seasonal Gatherings line.   I will admit, I was not feeling  inspired!

Out of the blue, an idea came to me and I sketched out this little drawing.

basket-weave-sketchIt looked deceptively simple.  I needed to know yardage so I went home and played with Electric Quilt v. 7.  I settled on this rendition.

basket weave eqAfter drafting the design I knew it wasn’t going to be simple to stitch.  Yes, I could have used squares, but the seams would have disrupted the flow.  If you haven’t played with Electric Quilt, this is what you can expect to see if you ask for yardage.

12-13-2012 5-49-16 PMI also printed out the rotary cutting instructions and kept the color key handy while piecing.

12-13-2012 5-47-51 PMThere were a couple of options for putting together this design, I could either have Y-seams or I could work with partial seams.  I chose the latter.  I’m not going to try to explain partial seams in this post, if anyone wants a tutorial let me know and I’ll add it to my “To Do List.”  It took about an hour in piecing time and mental gymnastics, but I did it!  Is it perfect?  No, but the next time (if there is a next time) will be better.  The appearance did improve from this after I pressed the finished product.

basket weave placematBy the way, there were about 20 completely different place mats made by my co-workers.  There were several that were much prettier than this one.

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

One response

14 12 2012
becky ezra

on ohfranson site she has different method, i assume even easier. have great holidays!!




