Just Say No, Just Say No, Just Say No …

1 11 2012

For a long time I just said no to wool.  I knew if I got started on it I’d be in trouble.  Technically, I could say I stuck with it, since I’m mainly using Wool Felt which is a blend of wool and rayon.  But I must admit I finally quit saying no and am addicted to these “wool” projects.  Not only am I addicted, but I’ve shared that addiction with many other people through the store.

What exactly am I talking about?  I suggested a Penny Rug a month group at the beginning of the year and adding wool felt to the inventory to make it more affordable for those that weren’t purists.  I was met with some skepticism, but was given the OK.  The first class in January had only one student.  We’ve grown to about 25 people signed up for the monthly class (many others that don’t come to class), and I have a hard time keeping the patterns and the various colors of wool felt stocked.

As seems to be the norm of late, my projects end up at the store before I even get pictures.  So the pictures shown here were taken at the store in less than desirable fluorescent lighting.

   We kicked off the year with “Let It Snow” from Cath’s Pennies.

February saw the group enlarge dramatically with “I Love Ewe” from Penny Lane Primitives.

March we started hoping for Spring even though it comes later in Colorado with “Snug as a Bug” by Bareroots.

In April we made “Bunnies in Spring” again by Cath’s Pennies.  These guys have floppy ears.  I expected the sale of these patterns to slow once Easter had passed, but that hasn’t been the case.  Every time we run out there is a request for more.

That is the first four months, I need to remember to take the camera to the store to get the rest.

So this isn’t just a look at what I did post, let me provide a few tips.  All of these were made with Wool Felt which is available to retailers through National Nonwovens.  Occasionally I include pieces of 100% wool for accents.  There are a couple of reasons I chose the wool felt, first because it is significantly less expensive than 100% wool, which means I can make more projects without too much guilt kicking in, and if I get tired of a project there is also less guilt.  There are loads of colors available and it is very easy to work with.

The wool felt can be used as is, but I prefer the feel when it has been prewashed.  I put the wool felt in the sink in warm/hot water and rinse it a few times if it bleeds a great deal.  Then it goes into my washer and goes through the spin cycle.  Next it goes into the dryer at normal setting for 6 minutes (that is the lowest amount of time for which I can set my dryer).  The wool felt will still be damp.  I lay it out flat to finish drying.  It will shrink some, so allow for that when purchasing the materials.  The wool felt can be dried completely in the dryer, which will result in a much bumpier product and significantly more shrinkage.

Actions

Information

One response

1 11 2012
bjg

Beautiful work, one of these days I’ve got to try this. Wish you were teaching at our local shop.




