The Power of Suggestion

12 12 2011

Working in the quilt shop, it is fascinating to me how much power there is in a sample.  In the nearly 6 months I’ve been working there, I’ve seen people buy patterns and books they would never have looked at twice without a store sample.  We had a stack of “Frosted Memories” books from This & That which had been languishing on the shelf.  There are great projects in the book, but the whole thing was done with that specific line of fabric.  Most of it is long gone.  I really liked the pillow and decided to make it up from other fabric.  I hate to admit I used a couple pieces of Thimbleberries fabric.  (I’m just not a Thimbleberries fan.)

 

From the pillow scraps I had enough left to make this hexagon table topper (also from the book) if I just added the rusty-red from my stash.

 

I’m happy to report, the power of suggestion is alive and well.  The books are sold out and I was able to bring the samples home before Christmas!

Actions

Information

One response

26 12 2011
Becky Ezra

so nice, i do remember ages ago i was graduated as industrial design from university, until now i ‘play’ with some missions such as – now take those beautiful quilts and do play with the colors, then play with size etc.
enjoy!




