Winter Wishes

15 10 2011

Finished another store sample yesterday.  One color-way of the Winter Wishes fabric by Benartex was moving well and the other wasn’t, so I looked for a way of sparking it up.  I pulled in some bright colors and am happy with the results.

The quilt is based on the pattern “Table Scraps” from the book Sprucing up the Castle with X-Blocks.  I reduced the number of blocks in the quilt to 25 and replaced 13 of those with the snowmen.  The blocks were cut with the 6-1/2″ X-block ruler.

There were 15 snowmen blocks in a panel so after finishing the top, I started thinking about what to do with the 2 leftover.  I also had all the remains from cutting the X-blocks.  So if you like the front  — what do you think of the back?

 Everything until the last border was scrap from the front and I was literally left with this small mound of scraps that might be considered usable.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 10 2011
Kathy E.

Very neat quilt, and WAY TO GO on using the left-overs for the backing!

Kat

23 11 2011
Sharon

That looks gorgeous, what a great way you to use the leftover squares, love it.




