Bloomin’ Holly

18 08 2011

My 6th day working in the store, I was approached by the person who schedules classes and asked if I was interested in teaching in the next schedule.  I was late to the party, the dead line for turning in class suggestions had already passed so I scrambled for some ideas.  I managed to come up with four things for the schedule and now I’m trying to get samples finished.  The place mats I posted last week will be one class that is beginner friendly.

This table runner (it would make a pretty cool narrow wall hanging)is another class I will be offering.

I started with the pattern “Bloomin’ Holly” by Bloomin Minds.  Everything in my sample is scraps from other projects except the leaves.  The pattern used fused applique for everything, but the background. I didn’t use fused applique at all.  I’m going to demonstrate the use of bias tape makers for the stem.  The berries are all small yo-yos and I will demo the yo-yo maker for those.  For the leaves I chose to use wool felt.  Which results in no need to finish edges and means I can have dimensional leaves.  I’m really pleased with how it turned out and will take it to the store tomorrow for display.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 08 2011
Becky Ezra

beautiful!!!

19 08 2011
bj

I am downright jealous of both of these classes, sure you don’t want to do on line classes. If I lived in your area I would be signing up for each class. You wow us with how much you get done and so quickly. The shop should realize they have a keeper in you.




