Picked Fresh

11 08 2011

A perk of the new job is the opportunity to make store samples.  Some people think I’m crazy, but for me the process has always been the most enjoyable part of quilting — not necessarily the finished product.  The only draw back is I can’t dilly dally like I usually do over my projects.

The goal for this store sample was to showcase some of the Picked Fresh fabric line by Wilmington prints.  I’d already volunteered to do a place mat/table runner class this fall, so it seemed like a perfect fit for both a class sample and a store sample.  Since getting home Monday night I’ve whipped out this set.

The center squares and the light fabric are from the Picked Fresh line.  The green is from the Bittersweet line by Benartex. 

I used a border print from the Picked Fresh line and centered it on the back so the set is reversible.

The pattern for the set is “Simply a Pleasure” by Tiger Lily Press.  I chose to leave the binding off this set since I am billing the class as beginner friendly.  I don’t think it is real friendly to have to do that much binding 😉 .

The quilting is very simple stitch in the ditch.  I haven’t done quiting on my domestic machine in years and it felt a little strange.

Funny thing, I have the tops for my own set done (which is why I suggested these as a class), but am dilly dallying around trying to decide whether to bind them or not.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 08 2011
Patricia Stroud

this is really a cute idea. Yes bind it. People do not have to bind it in your class. Showing them the unbound photo will show the difference. Then they can choose.

15 08 2011
Janice

Don’t and u will get them done quicker




