Nothing New Under the Sun!

26 06 2011

Sometime between 1996 and 1999, I sat down and figured out how to connect my binding strips at the corners of the quilt with a stitched mitered corner.  I’d never seen the method before. Imagine my surprise when about a month after all this mental activity I was surprised to see Jackie Robinson on Simply Quilts sewing  the corners exactly the same way only she had designed a ruler/template to mark that corner. 

Benefits of this method include reduction of bulk in the corners, and it is easy to keep the joins in the binding from ending up in the corners. 

In our monthly mini quilt group, we decided to do  demos in May and I chose to demonstrate this binding method.  Start by cutting and joining binding strips as usual.  I believe I used 2-1/2 strips cut on the straight of grain for this project.  I join the strips with a bias seam and make strips for each side of the quilt about 4″ longer than the quilt.  Press the strips lengthwise wrong sides together. 

The raw edges of the binding strips will go along the raw edges of the quilt.  The binding strips lay on the right side of the quilt while stitching.

Once you have determined your seam allowance width, leave a tail of about 2 inches and start stitching the same width as the seam allowance from the corner of the quilt.  So if the seam allowance is 3/8″ start stitching 3/8″ from the corner of the quilt.  I do back-stitch to secure.  Sew to the other end of the quilt and stop stitching the width of the seam allowance from the corner (again if 3/8″ seam allowance stop 3/8″ from the corner.  Back tack again.  Add the strips to all four sides in exactly the same manner.  At this juncture, the binding strips should meet at each corner and look like this on the right side of the quilt.

On one corner fold the two strips together at the point and pin in place.  The binding strips should be stacked precisely on top of each other.

Line up the binding miter tool with the end of the stitching on the corner and the folded edge of the binding.  There are marks on the tool, be sure the lined up marks are the same distance from the corner on each side.

Mark the corner.

Stitch on the drawn line back-stitch at the beginning.

Stitch to within one stitch of the corner, and take one stitch across the corner (this is the same method used on collars).  Stitch to the folded edge of the binding strips and back-stitch again.

Trim the seam, corner and the corner of the quilt in the seam allowance.

Turn the corner right side out.  I use the narrower angle of the ruler to push the point out.

Repeat for the remaining three corners, then hand stitch to the back of the quilt.

If all this is clear as mud, you can watch Jackie on video explaining the process here.  Jackie’s ruler will do 60°, 90°, 120° and 135° mitered corners.

Actions

Information

One response

26 06 2011
Marié

Hi Sonya

I have been doing my binding like this as well for years. Find this method much easier than the unnecessary connection of the binding strips on a side seam. Except for one thing- at the corners I took the quilt to the other side to get it completely out of the way. It was then very bulky were I start sewing the corner. Judges were often unhappy with my corners- it sometimes made a bit of a dog ear. Thanks for this demo- I can immediately see how I can correct my problem in future.




