End of Fall?

20 12 2010

According to the calendar, today is the last day of Fall.  I would argue based on the fact the leaves have been gone for about 2 months here, that Fall is already in the past.  However, I suppose because we have had temperatures in the high 50s to low 60s during the last two weeks here at over 6000 feet elevation,  one could make a case that winter isn’t here either.  It probably doesn’t really matter one way or another, since I continue to work on a Fall project.  I’ve completed three more blocks in the Autumn Joy BOM over the last few days.

Block two is a basket of cone flowers.

Block three is made up of  oak leaves appliqued to two Hole in the Barn Door blocks.  I did have to go out and purchase the rust fabric to frame the blocks.

Block four is probably my favorite, at least so far.  I’m not sure why, since I don’t particularly like to cook.  I did have to buy the background fabric and the white bowl fabric.  I changed the recipe to an apple pie  rather than pumpkin because I’ve never seen a pumpkin pie with a double crust.  I suppose I should have used a cherry pie recipe since I made the vents in the crust red.  But the apple pie recipe is a real recipe (abbreviated slightly for the block) that is Guy’s favorite.

The first three blocks have been combined into a unit.  The filler strip made up of 2-1/2″ squares came from pieces in my scrap box.  Most of those scraps aren’t even that large.

 

So it seems whatever the calendar says, Autumn continues for me.

Actions

Information

One response

21 12 2010
Allie

Well who says you have to work on an autumn quilt in autumn….this is fabulous, love the blocks!




