Let It Snow

8 12 2010

It would indeed be a good thing if it would snow outside!  We are well into December and not a decent snow fall yet.  I know there are parts of the country that would be happy to pass along some of their accumulation, but sadly it doesn’t work that way.  Don’t get me wrong, it has been a relief to not worry about the roads while the boys commute over 60 miles each way to school, but fire danger in December is just not right.  Since I have no control over the snow outside, it is time to move it inside!

After 10 years, I have finished my “Let It Snow” quilt!!!!

The pattern is a BOM pattern from The Stitch Connection called “Snowman Collector”.  I made the blocks as a block of the month program in 2000.  I put the top together sometime over the next two years.  After that the quilt languished in my UFO pile waiting for me to get a chance to quilt it.  I finally loaded the quilt on my machine in October and then had to unzip it to do customer quilts.  (I don’t usually take a quilt off once I have loaded it and I think I got some distortion (even though I had stabilized the whole thing), because I did take it off the machine.  The original pattern said “Snowman Collector,” but I changed that and added the mittens.

Here are some close-ups of a few of my favorite blocks.

I was in my NO handwork faze during the making of this quilt so everything, but stitching on a few of the buttons, was done on a sewing machine.  The gold border has the first two verses of the song “Let It Snow” quilted into it.  Looking at these pictures, it appears I may not be completely finished.  I might go back and add some more buttons as I get around to it.  However, it is done enough to cross off the UFO list!

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 12 2010
Sandra

Ahhh—so pretty! Is it going up on the wall?

14 12 2010
Allie

That is too darling – I love that you quilted the song into it. This is a masterpiece!




