What Price Courtesy?

1 11 2010

I stopped at Hobby Lobby this morning to pick up one item.  A couple of customers ahead of me in line were two friends.  The first one got to the register and she had two packages of stickers.  She insisted they were both on sale.  The cashier (a girl who was probably about 18) said I’m sorry this one isn’t on sale.  The customer wouldn’t accept her word and so the cashier asked another older cashier who said, “only the 3D stickers are on sale today.”  The customer continued to argue that the signs didn’t specify, but chose to not buy the flat stickers.  She paid and her friend moved to the register. 

The friend also had two packages of stickers, one with a clearance price tag.  The cashier politely told her clearance priced items were not included in the sale.  This customer rudely insisted the signs did not state clearance items were excluded.  The manager happened to walk by and the cashier asked him.  He confirmed her statement.  The customer turned to the manager and said, “The sign didn’t say it, I looked!”  The manager responded it does say it.  By this time both packages of stickers are rung up and the customer says if they aren’t on sale I don’t want them, than changes her mind and is making comments about false advertising.  I finally can’t keep my mouth shut any longer and point out that the posted ad for the week does state all previously marked down items are not included in the sale.  She insists that if the sign doesn’t say it, they have to give the discount. 

In the mean time her friend walks back to check the signs.  As the second woman is starting to walk out the door her friend calls out,  “It does say it.”  Without a backward glance they continue out of the store.

I was bothered!  They didn’t even offer an apology.  In my opinion they had three strikes against them. 

  1. They were rude!
  2. They were wrong!
  3. AND they lied!

I saw the price of the sticker package in question, and they would have saved all of 71 cents.  I have to ask myself, isn’t courtesy worth more than 71 cents?  Don’t misunderstand, I’m all for getting a good deal.  I also endorse correcting mistakes at the register both in my favor and in favor of the store.  But there is a kind, courteous and humane way to go about it.  My heart ached for the cashier.  So as the busy shopping season bears down upon us, I hope I will pause to make retail workers’ days a little more pleasant.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 11 2010
Pat

Well said and true.

1 11 2010
Allie

Oh how I dislike customers like this – unfortunately there are a lot of them out there! Having been a cashier, I make a point of being extra nice to them, and also waitresses….I could never do THAT job, someone would end up with food in their lap!

8 11 2010
Beth

People like that are just CLUELESS. If they had a family member or friend treated that way, they would be livid. We had a friend of the family who lived in NYC for a time and worked at TGIFs (I think). She got stiffed the WHOLE tab of about 5 or 6 people! She chased these people down the STREET and finally go the attention of a police officer. Sheesh…there was even a soldier in the group. If she had not caught them, she would have been docked the amt of the tab. some people just think THEY are the most important people in the world. (sorry to be so wordy! lol) I’m with Allie. I try to make up for others rudeness. Even to finding the manager and telling him what a fabulous job the checker did in the face of adversity!




