Making a Mountain out of a Mole Hill

14 10 2010

In January of this year we had our Quilters Anonymous meeting at Ann’s house and she had an adorable snowman pillow in her living room.  A friend had made if for her so she didn’t know the name of the pattern.  I came home and started an internet search and after visiting many websites finally found the pattern.  It is Twinkle Snowman Pillow by Heartfelt Finds.  The pattern came in January and today I finished with my pillow.  (09-17-2014 — The website for Heartfelt Finds appears to be gone, I cannot find them anywhere else and as the pattern is copyright do not feel I can share it.)

As Paul Harvey would have said — now for the rest of the story. That cute little quick pillow lead to hours of work.  While I was hunting the pattern, I found the patterns for the Snowmen All Through the Year  Stitcheries you’ve seen here off an on.  And, by the way, those stitcheries are finished, I now need to set them into a quilt.

That would be enough, but it isn’t the end of the story.  In the interest of using what I have rather than buying more, I started eyeing the homespuns I had purchased for another project.  Wondering if there would be enough for this little pillow.  This of course meant I had to cut out that other project and that lead to stitching it together.  Which resulted in my fox in the hen-house quilt which I’ve already shown here.

As you can see, I managed to make a mountain out of a mole hill and have an explanation for taking nine months to make a little pillow.  Am I contrite?   Not in the least!

Actions

Information

7 responses

9 02 2014
Kathy Kirby

Unable to locate the website to purchase the Twinkle Little Snowman pattern. Could you help?

11 07 2014
Monica

I know it’s a few year ago but have searched for the Twinkle snowman pattern. Is it still available.Would appreciate a reply. Thank you

25 11 2014
Amy Schweers

This pattern is one of my designs, Heartfelt Finds. I designed it quite a few years ago, I believe 2003. I occasionally sell my patterns on ebay or etsy, or at my mom’s quilt shop, Just Sew, but if you are interested in the pattern, or would like more information, you are welcome to email me at my new email address: amy@propertyexchangepartners. I closed my website about 5 years ago after my domain name expired and my web provider failed to renew it.

5 09 2015
Sonya

Thank you Amy, I had posted a link to your website, but saw it was gone when I looked for it again when people were asking where to get the pattern.

4 12 2014
18 09 2015
Claire Duff

Could not find that pattern.If you help me find it I would be very happy. Thank You.

24 10 2015
Sonya

Please see the comment 3 below this one on the blog, the designer, Amy, has provided her email so you can contact her for the pattern.




