The Pumpkin Posse

26 08 2010

I promised to show my displacement project from the August 17 post and I finished the last stitch today.  My sister says she purchased this pattern when we went to the Houston Quilt Festival in 2003 so perhaps that’s when I bought it as well.  I pulled all the fabric from my stash one evening last fall and put the whole top together in just a few hours.  I did the top stitching the next morning.  Sadly, I didn’t get to hang it last year since I had someone else’s quilt on my machine and didn’t get it quilted before Autumn had passed.

The pattern is from The Teacher’s Pet.  I didn’t see the pattern on their website, so it may be out of print.  I wanted contrast for the pocket and cuffs, but still wanted the same fabric and the reverse of the fabric wasn’t going to do it for me.  So I cut off a piece of fabric big enough for those two pieces and soaked them in a bleach and water mixture for a few minutes.  Then I rinsed it well and voila lighter fabric in exactly the same print.  If I were making this project again, I would embroider the eyes rather than paint them as the pattern instructed.

I picked up some party favor sheriff’s badges, but didn’t use them.  At this house we have a couple real badges sitting around, so Guy loaned me  a real one to use while the quilt is on display. 

Once this is hung, I’ll need to drag the rest of the fall decorations up from the basement.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2010
Allie

That is just too darling – brilliant idea for the cuffs!!

25 09 2010
Sheila

Love it! I need to make mine but won’t have a cool badge.




