Lucky Day

20 08 2010

Some days are just more lucky than others.  I went to applique study group today and of course cut out early to drive my 60+ miles to pick the boys up from school.  I gave myself a few extra minutes to make a quick trip through the thrift store.    I wandered the aisles quickly, and on my way out I paused at the locked glass cases.  A stack of 7 gas station dolls in their boxes caught my eye.  I recognized them because there were some that belonged to my mother in our house when I was growing up.  As I was talking to my husband on the cell phone, I glanced at a case across the aisle and my eyes fell on a toy sewing machine.  Apparently, prices on things in the cases are a secret.  I had an employee open the cases to check the price.  I immediately said I’ll take it on the toy sewing machine.  (I have a small collection of sewing machines.)   The dolls were $20 each, which may have been a fair price as they were still in their boxes, but I passed on them.

The sewing machine is missing a few small parts, that I can replace if I ever make the decision to do so.  I’m also still trying to figure out whether it is a reproduction or not.  This model was made prior to the 1950s and then reproduced in the late 1970s or 80s.  The reproductions I’ve found online have “Made in Turkey” stamped on the base.  This one doesn’t, but I don’t know if all reproductions did.

Regardless, I’m  happy with my find.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 08 2010
Allie

Oh too cute – what a find! If you google “date Singer sewing machine” you should be able to find a site that helps you figure out exactly when and where it was made. Good find!

14 09 2010
Mary Lu

Looks real. Like Allie said find the serial number and either email or call Singer. They can tell you and normal turn around is a day.




