PUBLISHED and a Give Away

15 08 2010

I was honored to have one of my quilts published in Renae Haddadin’s book Amazing Ways to use Circles and Rays this spring.  I greatly admire her work, so was thrilled when she asked if she could use my quilt.  I ordered copies of the book as soon as they showed  as “coming soon” from my supplier.  Unfortunately, they put the book on backorder and didn’t get around to shipping it to me until late in July.  (Renae did send me an autographed copy when they came out, but I’m not parting with that one!)  I had ordered one to give away here.  So now that I have the book in hand, I am finally posting about it.

The quilt she included in the gallery of the book is actually one I talked about in my very first post on this blog.  It was completed in under a month for a color class I was taking from Heather Thomas in 2007.  My quilt is the one at the top of this page.

So now to the fun stuff.  I am giving away a copy of this book.  To have a chance at winning, all you need to do is add a comment to this post.  For those of you that read this on Facebook, you will need to come to the blog to enter.  Also those of you that like to send emails rather than commenting here, you must comment, not email to enter.  I will hold a random drawing next Sunday, August 22 to select the winner.  So to be safe you should enter by midnight on Saturday.

Actions

Information

49 responses

15 08 2010
Karen Kemmerer

Glad to see your quilt in the book. I took the class and really like what you can do with the rays and circles.

15 08 2010
Ann McClain

And what a great class it was! You are so talented and congrats on being selected for her book

15 08 2010
Robyn Kirk

How exciting Sonya to have been chosen for this book. I would have sent an email asking if you achieved some of the shading with quilting thread or was it all fabric.
The book looks amazing and I would love to own it. Thank you for offering it.
Cheers
RobynK

16 08 2010
Sarah Stevens

Congratulations on being published! I hope this winter I can find time to divote to learning more of these techniques.

16 08 2010
Kathy E.

Congrats!!! How exciting it must be to be published in a book!! I love your quilt! Perhaps this will inspire me to get busy doing something like this soon. I have Renae’s tools, and DVD, but still have not really used them to their potential. I would LOVE to have the book too! Thanks for your give-away.

Kat

16 08 2010
Sheila

Yep, that’s my sister. She got all the creative genes!

16 08 2010
Brenda Rithmire

Fantastic! Love your quilt. I just watched Renae explain her ray tool on TQS. The book looks great, would love to own it.

16 08 2010
Londa

Now that you’re famous…will you still accept quilts from your not-so-famous friends & family?

It’s a beautiful quilt. I remember when you posted about it the first time. We were all in awe and still are…

16 08 2010
Brenda

It was a gorgeous quilt and well deserved recognition. I’d love to have a signed copy!!

17 08 2010
Gina P.

Published is so cool! However, your quilt looks incredibly hard to make. It is absolutely beautiful and I love it! A signed copy might inspire me to try this method.

17 08 2010
Deb Prewitt

How fabulous to have your quilt selected. But your work is always stunning, so it comes as no surprise. I was part of that color class and know how beautiful your work is. I would love to win a copy of the book, because you can never have enough books! Deb

17 08 2010
Bobbie

You have such a talent. I’m glad you were appreciated. The quilt is awesome.
Bobbie

18 08 2010
Diana W

Hey, I remember when you did this quilt originally. It is a gorgeous quilt. I would love to win the book and if I win, I would love for you to autograph it. Congrats on being published!

18 08 2010
Shelley

What a cool quilt! I’d comment even if there wasn’t a drawing for the book – it’s just bonus! Thanks for sharing….

18 08 2010
Pat

Beautiful, Beautiful Quilt! Congrat’s!! would love to win the book!
Pat

18 08 2010
Lynn O'Neill

How exciting to have our quilt chosen for Renae’s book. I just ordered my first set of Renae’s arcs, and hope to add the Rays soon…and this wonderful book.

18 08 2010
Jean Shute

Beautiful quilt – congratulations on being included in Renae’s book. Well deserved. I haven’t bought the rays yet, but have been thinking about them. This book might convince me.

18 08 2010
Gayle

I love your quilt, and love it even more that Renae included it in her book. Congratulations!

I have her rays, but don’t have this book. Would love to win it and USE it! Thanks for your generosity. Someone will be darn lucky to get it!

Gayle

18 08 2010
Lani

WhooHoo..Thanks for the opportunity to win this amazing book! Beautiful quilt!! I have her rays and arcs, but haven’t had a chance to use them yet. Your quilt was perfect!!

18 08 2010
Lisa Benson

That’s a great quilt. Congratulations on being in Renae’s book. You must have been thrilled when you heard the news.

19 08 2010
SoozeM

How exciting to be published in what I am sure is a must-have book! I have my fingers crossed!

19 08 2010
Lisa McGrath

Sonya,
I have enjoyed reading your blog. (You’ve inspired me to go back in the studio to find my curve master foot because it has never been used.) Your quilting is beautiful. Congrats for being chosen for Renee’s book.

19 08 2010
Sharon Spingler

Going through your blog, some fabulous quilts!! I especially love the drunkards path.
What a great idea to use Renae’s book as a giveaway.

19 08 2010
Linda James

Congratulations on being published. That’s a great quilt. Didn’t know Renae had a new book. I’ll bet it has lots of ideas and gorgeous quilts in it!

19 08 2010
Lansdown Studio

Congratulations! PS I also love that drunkards path quilt….

Nancy

19 08 2010
Sue Fors!

I just bought the arcs and the rays, would love to win the book!

19 08 2010
Sandi Phillips

Congratulations on being published. Renae is just awesome, isn’t she? I hope I win, as I don’t have any of her products.

Sandi

19 08 2010
helen-mary

That’s a beautiful quilt. And how exciting… to be published!

19 08 2010
shirley bruner

what a great quilt. i would love that book and the chance to try some of her ideas. thanks

19 08 2010
Vicki Schlimmer

Love your quilting!! I would love to have a chance at winning Renae’s book 🙂

19 08 2010
Lynda Carver

Congratulations on being published! That must be a real thrill! And what a generous way to celebrate–by giving away one of the books! Thanks!

19 08 2010
Karen Azevedo

Now I’d love to win one of her books as I have a set of her rays! And besides I’m just in Ft. Collins so the postage would be cheap. 🙂

19 08 2010
Sharon

Man, I’d love that book! I had to laugh at the Avoidance Mechanism post. I do that all the time and my length of time for finishing a quilt proves it.

19 08 2010
Merenie

Congrats on being published…very nice quilt!

19 08 2010
Cathie Golding

I enjoyed visiting your blog. Very intrigued by that curve foot attachment. Sign me on for you book giveaway! Thanks for sharing your talents with us all !

19 08 2010
diane

What a great book and to have your quilt included……….awesome!

19 08 2010
snickers

What an honor to be published in such a great book. Congradulations! Renee is an inspiration to all. I’ve taken several of Renee’s classes and enjoyed them. I would love a chance to win the book. Sue

19 08 2010
Terri Vanden Bosch

Love your blog–great photos and so inspiring!! Thanks for the giveaway!!

19 08 2010
Eileen

Found your blog through MQResources ~ really like your site!
It must be so exciting to see your work (and your name!) in print ~ congratulations.
Enjoy the accolades ~ you deserve them!

19 08 2010
kim

Love your quilt, congrats on being published. Love your site

19 08 2010
Tammy Murphy

I would LOVE to win this book! I have been eyeing it for a little while now, along with the amazing rays themselves!!!
Renae is quite the inspiration~
And Congrats to you for being chosen to be in the book too! What a great feeling that must be!

19 08 2010
Betsy Freeman

What an honor to have a quilt in the book! It looks wonderful! I look forward to learning more about Renae’s rays!

19 08 2010
Amy

How exciting to have such a great quilt published! Generous of you to run the contest!

19 08 2010
LeeAnn

I took a class from Judy Woodworth and she says this book is one of her “must-have” books. I would just love to win this book! Thanks for offering it!

19 08 2010
Vicki Sprain

Congratulations on having your quilt published! I think it would be great to win the book and have been wanting to try out Renae’s techniques on a quilt for myself. Thanks for running the giveaway!

19 08 2010
Viki Kirby

I’ve heard tons about Amazing Rays but never really gave them a look. Thanks for enlightening.

21 08 2010
Kelley

Congratulations on your quilt being in the book! How exciting! I took a class from Renae at MQX and have her arcs. I’d love to know more things I can do with them.

21 08 2010
Karen Anderson

Wow, this is wonderful! An opportunity to win a book from a quilting Idol! Thank you!

21 08 2010
Kathy Smith aka Loki

I found your site through MQResources. I have enjoyed reading your blog. I’ve really enjoyed reading about the procrastination techniques. I find myself doing some of them also.
Congratulations on being published, it must be exciting!




