Just for Fun Decorating

18 03 2010

I follow several decorating blogs and many of those writers are decorating for Spring.  It is Spring break here and the first day of Spring is in two days, so I took some time to play.  Little nests are popping up all over blogland and I stopped in at Hobby Lobby looking for small eggs.  I was looking especially for eggs that were about the size of Robin’s eggs.  The only ones I could find were glittery plastic Easter eggs.  I didn’t want to decorate for Easter, but for Spring. 

I bought the little plastic eggs, brought them home, primed them, mixed acrylic paint and achieved a more realistic color.  My nests are made from small grapevine wreaths and Spanish Moss.   Here are a couple pictures.

At the end of February I picked up a Pottery Barn catalog while I was in Denver.  On the cover was the cutest watering can with a decopaged egg sitting on top.  I looked at that egg and thought that would be fun to make.  So on the same trip to Hobby Lobby I picked up some paper mache eggs that were chicken egg size, and some Modge Podge.  I also looked for napkins, wrapping paper or stickers that had pictures I liked.  I didn’t have any luck on that front.  I’ve never done decopage before, but at some point I’ve read how to do it.  The eggs may not have been the best first project.  Since I hadn’t found pictures I liked, I went searching for images on the internet.  I just pasted and resized several pictures in a Word document and then printed it out in color.  I was having trouble getting the pictures to lay reasonably flat on the egg.  When I went back and looked at the description of the egg in the Pottery Barn catalog it was more like Ostrich egg size.  I’m fine with what I ended up with, they serve no useful purpose, but they are kinda cute.

I played with some other things and if or when I finish them, I’ll toss a picture your way.

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 03 2010
Allie

I love your little nests – and your eggs turned out great! I love to decoupage, my favorite project was a filing cabinet I completely covered with pictures from a Mary Englebriet calendar.

31 03 2010
Kathy E.

They are all beautiful, sonya!! My favorite is the candle jar with the nest underneath…. WAAAYYYYY cute!

Kat

4 04 2010
marilyn

WOW Sonya, you are not only a master Quilter, and a Wiz at $’s & #’s, but you are a ‘Decorator’ too!!! Love your pictures!!!




