Tradition meets Technology

31 01 2010

I’ve been working on more hand embroidered blocks.  Two more “Verandah Views” blocks from last year’s Willowberry Designs BOM are finished. 

As if I didn’t have enough projects in the works, I went searching online for a pattern for a pillow I saw at a friend’s house.  She had received the pillow as a gift so didn’t have the name.  It is amazing what one can find when doing a Google search for “snowman stitchery.”  I browsed dozens of sites and stumbled across one I hadn’t seen before.  I fell for a 12 month snowman stitchery and I finished most of block one while we were staying in the hotel waiting for our floors to be finished.  Here is Mr. January…

This pattern is from Sweet Gatherings and there are many other adorable patterns there as well.  The look for most of the patterns is primitive, but my stitching is a little less primitive than their samples. 

So other than finding patterns online how does this post relate to my title?  I love gadgets and especially electronic gadgets.  If I’m not sewing, there is a fair chance I’m on the computer.  It is an age of instant gratification and one way of  being instantly gratified is downloading patterns rather than waiting for them to come through the mail.  But then it is necessary to print them out, isn’t it?  I haven’t gotten around printing the pattern page and tracing it onto the fabric, but I have found a way to avoid carrying thread charts for the pattern with me.  Enter the iPod touch  — or iPhone if you prefer.  I went hunting for a document reader awhile ago and found a free application that works for me.  It is called FileApp.  It will read many document formats including PDF.  Here are some screen shots on the iPod to give you an idea of  how it works.

It is the last icon in the third row.  (Yes, there are games on my iPod as well.  The one in the top left was designed by a friend from college — it is really cool.  Other than the word games, most of the other games belong to my boys.  The math applications are ones I put on last school year for my 3rd and 4th graders to use.)

When you open the program it will show you a list of the documents that have been transferred to the iPod.

Select the file to view and the document opens.

It is possible to scroll through it and to enlarge to see detail or for aging eyes.

If you have the iPod or iPhone you know you can turn it on its side to get a wider view.

Files can be brought into the iPod wirelessly.  Just select the WiFi icon and a window opens with directions and provides the ftp address of the iPod to transfer files on the computer.

 This application has gotten some negative reviews at the iTunes store, but it is free and so far has worked for me.  Using it means I have the thread charts handy anywhere without hauling around paper.  Gotta love technology!  Oh, by the way, I did find the pattern that took me on the original search, but I haven’t started it yet.

Actions

Information




