Outline Stitches (Back Stitch & Stem Stitch)

12 11 2009

Some of my friends have seen the hand embroidery I’ve been working on and have decided to try it out for themselves.  There are many different types of learners out there and for some diagrams just don’t cut it.  So I’m making a feeble attempt at making videos of various stitches.  I’m placing a disclaimer right here and now — I am not an EXPERT!  This is how I do the stitches, it isn’t necessarily the best, but it works for me.

Back Stitch

The back stitch is fairly easy and fast once you get the hang of it.  Lots of current commercial patterns use it for all outlining.  It turns tight corners well and works for details like words.

Stem Stitch

The stem stitch is a bolder stitch than the back stitch.  It does take a little longer and tends to roll when going around tight curves.  It seems a lot of stitchers at this time prefer the back stitch.  However, the stem stitch does have its place and is a beautiful stitch.

This picture shows a magnified view of the stem stitch on top (in red)  and the back stitch on the bottom (in blue).  This project is being worked with three strands of embroidery floss.

Back-Stitch-Stem-Stitch

This has been an entertaining start to this endeavor.  I have the camera resting on my chest so it is possible for the viewer to see what I am doing.  This means it is more difficult for me to see and also means the camera moves when I breathe or talk.  Ah, well my boys aren’t interested in playing camera crew so this is the best I can do at the moment.

More stitches to come as I record them and have time to upload them.

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 11 2009
Allie

Oh do you rock – I’ll send my friend over to check these out, she’s interested in learning!

15 02 2010
patchwork

Thanks for going through this step by step for all the beginners…who are striving to learn these.




