Day of Finishes

10 11 2009

I put the finishing touches on two projects today.  The first was a wool felt pillow.  I’ve had the pattern and wool felt since either 2004 or 2005.  I bought the pattern at the sewing expo in Puyallup one of those years and bought the wool felt at Fabric Depot in Portland on the same trip.  I’m pretty sure I had intended to stitch it by machine when I bought it, but I’m into a handwork phase now.  The only machine stitching was to sew the back of the pillow onto the finished front.   I didn’t realize the pattern was from the same designer as the snowman in my last post until I was ready to write here.  I think this is the first time I’ve used their patterns.  The pattern is Warmin’ My Paws from Sew Wonderful Dreams

Bear-Pillow

The pattern directions said to sew the back on and stuff the pillow.  Fortunately, I looked at the dimensions early on and realized that if I made the pillow either one inch bigger or one inch smaller, a purchased pillow form would fit.  Since stuffing things isn’t one of my top favorite activities, I made the pillow one inch bigger.

I started the second project early in October, but just finished it.  That’s alright because it can hang until the Christmas decorations come out.  This is another pattern that has been in the stash for a few years.  I actually thought I had purchased their Thanksgiving hanging, but apparently at the time I decided this one could hang for a longer period of time.  The pattern is “No Crows Allowed” from Sweet Dreams.  I’ve made several projects from their patterns and they are just fun!

Scarecrow-wreath

I’m off to see what else I can dabble in.

Actions

Information

One response

11 11 2009
Vicki W

No Crows is really cute but I love that pillow!




