Amazing?

20 10 2009

Yes, it must be amazing or shocking!  I’ve finished a second quilt that will fit my bed less than one month after the first.  I purchased the focus fabric for this quilt when I was in Oregon in 2005.  It was 40 or 50 percent off and I bought the rest of the bolt.  The remaining fabric was purchased when Ruth’s Stitchery was having a sale.  I finished the bolt for the background fabric and the backing fabric so it was 50% off.  The dark blue bands was regularly priced fabric, but purchased during Ruth’s sale that year so it was 22% off.  I think I did pretty well for a King sized quilt.    The pattern is BQ from Maple Island Quilts.    I actually sewed the top together in 2006 in one day.  I had to slow down slightly since my focus fabric was directional.  It has just been waiting for quilting.  I finally slipped it on the machine  this summer.  I quilted it with a the panto “Cascade.”  I used wool batting and to take advantage of the wool properties I wanted a fairly open design.  I also feel like the piecing is bold in this quilt and I didn’t want to distract with busy quilting.

OK, what you are really here for — the pictures.  Here is the full quilt

Water-Lily-BQ

And a close up of four blocks.

Water-Lily-BQ-Close-Up

Off to mark off another UFO on my sidebar!!!

Actions

Information

One response

20 10 2009
Allie

Wow – that’s really beautiful – congrats on a great finish!




