Nearly Ten Years Later

27 09 2009

The end of next month marks ten years since my first long arm quilting machine was delivered.  Just today I FINALLY finished a quilt for my bed!!!!  After hundreds of customer quilts I have a quilt.  I finished the top in June and discussed my color choices in this post.  Then in July I mentioned I had snuck one of my own quilts on the machine in this post.  This morning I finally finished the binding.  So the finished pictures.

Simple-Gifts-Finished-2

Simple Gifts 2006 -2009

The whole quilt view

The whole quilt view

Quilting Detail

Quilting Detail

I started the quilt early in 2006 and finished it today.  So about 3.75 years in the making.  The quilting is Meandering Magic from Suzanne’s books, but done with stressless feathers.  This gets marked of the UFO list — YEAH!

Actions

Information

7 responses

28 09 2009
ginaquilts

Beautiful! I love how it’s a scrappy sampler but it looks so cohesive and together! Great job in piecing and quilting!

28 09 2009
Vicki W

It’s lovely! Glad you finally got one for yourself done!

28 09 2009
Gina Patterson

This is absolutely gorgeous!! I found your site when I started quilting a few months back and now I am totally addicted. I have learned a lot from you and love looking at the photos. This is wonderful.

28 09 2009
Allie

How beautiful is that!!! Congratulations!

30 09 2009
Alycia

Wow! That is gorgeous. The quilting is just wonderful too!

30 09 2009
Londa Edwards Rau, the sister's friend

Sonya, you’re so brave to list all your UFOs. Congrats on getting one more finished!

2 10 2009
ivoryspring

What a lovely, lovely quilt! Thank you for sharing. Your quilting is absolutely impressive.




