19 Loooong Years Ago

15 08 2009
My sister and brother-in-law celebrated their 19th anniversary this week. She posted some pictures on Facebook and I lifted them to show here.

Other than preping a classroom (including painting it) I haven’t accomplished much on the creative side in the last couple weeks. Since Sheila posted her pictures I thought I’d show you what I was working on a little over 19 years ago.

Sheila and David Wedding Party
Sheila and David Wedding Party

I made all the dresses for the wedding party + my mom’s dress.

Bible Boy and Flower Girl

Bible Boy and Flower Girl

Including a miniature of the bride’s dress for the flower girl.  (The flower girl was changed after rehearsal the night before.  The original did not want to do it.  These two are cousins.)

I did the dresses from 3000 miles away while I worked full time.  I was living on the East Coast and everyone else was on the west coast.  I got one fitting on my sister at her college graduation.  It was fortunate everything fit as well as it did.  Then I flew in a week early to do the cake.

Sheila and David Wedding Cake

Sheila and David Wedding Cake

This cake had four different flavors and various fillings. 

By the end of the wedding I was just a little ticked at my sister.  I was there that week working like crazy and all she wanted to do was sleep.  Turned out she had mono which gives her a very good excuse.  By the time I finished working on this wedding I swore I wouldn’t do another until my daughter got married.  I didn’t end up with any girls so it looks like I’m off the hook!

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 08 2009
Sheila Kellogg

Well you hid it well. I never knew until now that you were ticked. I really didn’t remember much of the week before and lots of the wedding day either. The video helped fill in some blanks. The three weeks after the wedding all I did was sleep before I started my new job. The mono explains the black ugly marks under my eyes in the pictures. My eyes looked pretty tired.

15 08 2009
Allie

OH MY GOODNESS – you are a whiz!!!!!!! The dresses are absolutely gorgeous and so is that cake! Oh your poor sister…..




