Snuck One In

3 08 2009

I put this little quilt on the machine the afternoon I finished the red Winter Wonderland quilt.  I told myself I could finish the quilting that afternoon.  I could have if thunderstorms hadn’t rolled in.  I finished the last stitches on the hanging sleeve today. 

Wedgeworks

I did the center portion in a class with Cheryl Phillips in 2004.  She is a great teacher.  I wish I could spend a few hours in her brain just to see how she comes up with the ideas for constructing quilts.  This mariner’s compass is from her WedgeWorks II book.  It is three dimensional.  I noticed in the book most of the edges were stitched down.  I wanted it to be obvious the block was dimensional so I didn’t stitch the edges down.  I also put the flanges in the border.  I wanted to have piped binding, but I didn’t have enough fabric left.  Five years later is too late to get the same fabric.

Now over to my sidebar to mark it off the UFO list.

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 08 2009
Vicki W

Very pretty!

4 08 2009
Allie

That’s amazing – really beautiful!!!!!

5 08 2009
Sheila Kellogg

Five years later it’s too late to get the fabric? Not out of your sister’s stash!

5 08 2009
Deb Levy

beautiful Sonya!




