The First Step is to Admit You have A Problem…

10 07 2009

I went to the Rocky Mountain Sewing Expo in Denver today.  I hadn’t bothered to go up for that show for several years because the last time I was there I was less than impressed.  However, I didn’t go to any of the bigger shows this year so I thought why not?  Based on the goodies that came home with me it must have been a fair show.  I still have issues with paying $9 or $10 just to be able to go in and shop.  Without any quilts to see that seems high to me.  Oh well,  it is recreation right?

Going to a show seems to make me feel I have permission to spend.  Why is that?  I can be quite controlled when I just go to a store, but put me in a show situation and I have a problem.  Ah, I’ve managed the first step–  admitted I have a problem.  But it is so much fun I probably won’t get past the first step.

So what came home with me?

I’m always looking for something different to do in the embroidery hoop and It’s 2 Kuhl had patterns for dolls and the faces can be embroidered in the hoop (or painted).  The clothing patterns also have freestanding lace designs for collars, pinafores, aprons, shoes and accessories.  The clothes will fit an 18″ doll, not just a doll one makes themselves.  The pictures shown here came from their website.

It's 2 Kuhl Embroidery Designs

It's 2 Kuhl Embroidery Designs

It's 2 Kuhl Embroidery Designs

It's 2 Kuhl Embroidery Designs - Rosebud

It's 2 Kuhl Embroidery Designs - Rosebud

  

I only have boys, so apparently I haven’t outgrown dolls.

At the Crawford Designs booth they were offering a real deal.  Buy a pigment dyed sweatshirt and get any pattern free.  As many sweatshirts and patterns as you cared to purchase.  I already had some of their patterns, but had never gotten around to buying the sweatshirts, so two shirts came home with me today.  It looks like I will be working with wool some more.  I chose these two patterns as my freebies (again the pictures came from their website).

Crawford Designs Snowpals Back

Crawford Designs Snowpals Back

Crawford Designs Snowpals Front

Crawford Designs Snowpals Front

 

Crawford Designs Whimsical Seasons Scarves and Bags

Crawford Designs Whimsical Seasons Scarves and Bags

Can you tell I have a thing for snowmen?  The last pattern says it is scarves, but I’m thinking along the lines of narrow table runners.

I took my finished Friendship Garden quilt top to show at the Bird Brain Designs booth and of course found another pattern I would like to stitch up (picture from their website).

285_ILoveApples

Bird Brain Designs -- I Love Apples

Quilter’s Rule had a booth.  It was much smaller than the one they have at the Machine Quilter’s Showcase, but still a lot of the products there were for the longarm.  I knew there was something people on MQResource had been raving about after MQS this year, but couldn’t remember what.  So asked Sonja (good name) what was new in the last year.  Ah yes, it was the Nested Mini Circle Templates.  I bought two sizes to try  – there are four sizes available.  If I like them I can always order the rest.

Quilter's Rule -- Mini Nested Circles

Quilter's Rule -- Mini Nested Circles

The last item was 1″ Mylar Hexagons to make a grandmother’s flower garden.  A couple people in our Quilter’s Anonymous group are working on them.  Ann is cutting templates from junk mail (interest postcards) on a die cut machine and Andrea had these Mylar Hexagons.  I like the idea of the Mylar, although recycling that junk mail is a great idea.  I found the size I was looking for today.  It looks like another great hand project for lugging around and using up scraps.

We stopped at two quilt shops on the way home, but apparently I had spent enough.  I didn’t buy anything at either store.  So that was my shopping “therapy” for the day.  I need to go do some customer quilts to pay for today!

Actions

Information

One response

10 07 2009
Allie

Oh my gosh that machine embroidery is fabulous!!!!! I do a wee bit of digitizing but can’t imagine trying that. Wow. All your goodies are wonderful!




