Late for the Party

10 07 2009

Allie has been commenting on my posts fairly regularly and a couple weeks ago I finally followed the link that comes through for her.  She has a great blog going.  In the last two weeks she released two wonderful  free porthole embroidery patterns.  I have added them to my “to do” list.  Her blog led to others and I found several  free hand embroidery block of the month patterns.  I started two of them this week and fully intend to start some others as well.  I am late getting started. 

The first two pictures are from Gail Pan Design’s “Christmas Wish BOM.” (I haven’t pressed any of these yet.)  This is going to be a 9 month project and she just posted month 7.  I did two months this week so I am endeavoring to catch up!

Gail Pan BO

Gail Pan BOM Block 1

Gail Pan BOM

Gail Pan BOM Block 2

The next three pictures are from Lynette Anderson Designs free Noah’s Ark Block of the Month.  I’m so late joining this party that it is over!  All the patterns have been posted.  It is a twelve part-er and I finished three this week.  These are really small, I didn’t realize that when I looked at her blog.  Pictures can be so deceiving!  In fact it is so small I’m using the scraps cut from between the scallops on my Horn of Plenty quilt for the background.

Lynette Anderson Designs Noah BOM Block 1

Lynette Anderson Designs Noah BOM Block 1

Lynette Anderson Designs Noah BOM Block 2

Lynette Anderson Designs Noah BOM Block 2

Lynette Anderson Designs Noah BOM Block 3

Lynette Anderson Designs Noah BOM Block 3

These blocks are very folk artsy and they just make me smile.  The rainbow was a pain to trace and the lines wobble a little, but that just makes it even more folk artsy — right?

I’ve marked the edges of my blocks with blue washout marker so I’m holding off on pressing them.  They will look way better when the background is nice and crisp.

Actions

Information

One response

11 07 2009
Allie

Awww…thanks for the bloggy love, Sonya! I love those Gail Pan blocks. Wow on the Noah’s Ark – I had no idea they were so tiny! Yours look GREAT! Do you use the blue washout marker to trace? I do and love it. If I make an oopsie it doesn’t show.




