Satin Stitch — A Finish for Fusible Web Applique

30 06 2009

I think I’m pretty much finished with my PowerPoint presentation for Thursday night.  I didn’t have any good visuals for doing a satin stitch finish on fusible web applique.  I really don’t use it much anymore except for when I’m machine embroidering applique.  However, I wanted to be able to explain it. 

So here is what I came up with:

For a satin stitch I prefer the stitch that looks like a lightening bolt rather than the standard zig zag.  Using test pieces deterine what length and width you prefer.  I always stitch cover stitches with the needle down function engaged.

Lightening-Bolt

The majority of the satin stitch should be on the applique fabric.  The outside swing of the needle should fall just off the applique fabric on the background.  The idea is to keep the stitches perpendicular to the edge of the applique.  Pivoting is a little different from the blanket stitch cover stitch.  These are the basics

For concave curves pivot while the needle is on the inside swing (on the applique fabric).  The tighter the curve the more frequently the piece will need to be pivoted.

Concave-Curves

For convex curves the pivot point will be on the outside swing (when the needle is on the background fabric).  Again the tighter the curve the more frequently the piece will need to be pivoted.

Convex-Curves

On inside corners the stitch until the satin stitch is the width of the stitch beyond the corner.  With the needle down on the inside swing, pivot the piece.

Inside-Corner

For outside corners stitch all the way to the corner and with the needle down on the outside swing at the corner pivot the piece.

Outside-Corner

As one approaches a sharp point or corner it may be helpful to narrow the stitch.  These are just the basics, but it is a start.

Actions

Information

One response

29 10 2009
Juli Jordan

Thanks, this is just what I needed. Started a project and loved the fusible web applique technique. I drew the picture, loved picking out the fabrics, then had no idea how to “finish” the applique. End product is for a baby, so I imagine it will need to be washed occasionally, so I wanted it to not fall apart. grocery cart seat with ladybugs on it. Appreciate your wisdom.




