Where There’s a Will…

26 06 2009

This was today’s project.  The shelves need to be accessorized, but I broke a weld trying to level the bottom shelf.  So next week I’ll take it to a friend to get it spot welded.

Kitchen-wall

I picked up the shelf from Hobby Lobby on Tuesday.  It was from the garden section and was marked down 66%.  The pictures are from last year’s calendar. 

I had been saving the calendar, because I just loved the pictures.  The problem — they were really too big for framing and hanging where I wanted them.  My solution scan the pictures and print them in a smaller size.  However, the calendar was even too big for my scan bed.  So I scanned each picture at 300 dpi in two parts.(Now I can get rid of the calendar)  There is a little program that came with one of my Canon cameras called PhotoStitch.  I found that it can be downloaded from here .  This program will merge pictures together.  It works beautifully for panorama landscape pictures or anything you can’t get in one shot or one scan.  Anyway, I merged the two parts together.  Then I opened the picture in Photoshop and cropped it to 5×7.  The original pictures weren’t the same ratio so I did loose part of the picture.  I put two pictures on a 8-1/2 x11 page and then printed at the best print quality on photo paper.   It worked perfectly.

 Frames were 50% off at Hobby Lobby this week so I went to get four frames.  Of course there were only three of the ones I liked.  I bought them anyway and since we have three Hobby Lobbys in town found the last frame at another location.

A Betty Boop salt and pepper shaker has made it on the shelf.  After I get it fixed, I’m going to have some fun putting other small items up there.

