Edible Centerpiece

3 06 2009

Quilter’s Anonymous met at my house today.  (It is a group of 8 quilters that meet once a month at members homes.)  I quickly volunteered for June when we were planning this years’s schedule.  School is out and it isn’t hot yet (no air conditioning.)  I’ve had ideas rolling around in my head for months.  When I saw Deb’s mother’s day gift I knew I wanted to make an edible centerpiece.  These arrangements are available here in town from Edible Arrangements, but I wanted to make my own.

I found a flower cookie cutter at Hobby Lobby, but it was too big for the pineapple.  I ended up cut one petal out of it with tin snips and Guy soldered it closed for me.  I chose too make chocolate covered strawberries.  I pretty much knew how it was done, but did an Internet search yesterday and used these directions — Yum!  I covered the strawberries last night and cut out the pineapple flowers.  I waited until this morning to put the arrangement together.  Jesse helped me by using a pencil sharpener to sharpen the blunt end of the scewers.  Our group meets at 9am.  The arrangement was finished, but I was a little behind on everything else.  Here is the finished arrangement.

centerpiece

I made double chocolate muffins from this recipe.  I’ve made these before and they are very good, however today the bottoms burned.  It has been a long time since I made them and I think I need to make a note on my recipe to shorten the minimum cooking time.  The boys have been eating the tops of them.  Lisa bailed me out and stopped by King Soopers for muffins.  Other than that I sort of went with a Mexican theme.  I had Mexican Layered dip — sort of like 7 layer dip, but my own twist on it, tortilla pinwheel rolls filled with cream cheese etc., and Sweet Corn Cake (first time I made it and it took longer to cook than the recipe said, which also set me behind.)

I don’t think anyone left hungry and the boys have been eating leftovers all day.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 06 2009
Mary

This looks really good! I’m a little weird about the delivered ones …I probably wouldn’t have eaten any of Deb’s (don’t know who’s been handling it along the way) but I would liked some of this one!

4 06 2009
Beth

Your arrangement looks great! My daughter gave me one of these for Mothers Day. You have recreated it VERY well! I think you put in more chocolate covered strawberries than I got…I think I will go with YOURS next year! lolol




