Rhonda’s Bears Paw Quilt

19 05 2009

Rhonda made this quilt for a wedding and I promised to get it quilted in a timely fashion.  Life has been working against me, either that or I opted for a more complicated design than necessary.  Time was running out and I intended to finish quilting last night, staying up as late as necessary.  Even the weather is against me :-).  A thunderstorm rolled through and I unplugged all my machines.  So I was up before the chickens – a few minutes after 4am to finish this and get it to her before we take off for a trip to Minnesota.

Bears-Paw

All Rhonda told me was she wanted something different in each border.  People often ask how I decide what to quilt.  The funny thing is I will usually start with just one idea for one part of the quilt.  I worked out a design for the blocks and pulled a cable stencil for the first border.  The rest was just figuring it out as I went.  Cross hatching seemed a logical choice in the sashing since I could use the piecing as a guide.  That was a little too boring for me and I add the little flourish.  I want to play with more ideas for embellishing crosshatching when I have time.

Bears-Paw2

The curling Amish feather in the outside border was the last thing to go on the quilt and what I was up at 4am to finish.

I like the back on this quilt. I would be happy with it as a whole cloth design.

Bears-Paw3

One more try at getting a good shot of the front.

Bears-Paw-4

I spent way more time on this quilt than I originally expected, but I think the final results were worth it.

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 05 2009
Serena

You’re quilting is so fantastic!!!

30 05 2009
Vicki W

Beautiful quilting!

31 05 2009
Deb Levy

Looks fabulous Sonya!

1 06 2009
Sharon

That is simply gorgeous!!!

7 06 2009
Shared Items - June 7, 2009: A Peach in Stitches

[…] Rhonda’s Bears Paw Quilt […]




