Mine, Mine, Mine, Mine, MINE!

26 04 2009

Yes, I finished one of MY quilts.  If you have followed my ramblings for awhile, you know it is a rare occurrence for me to finish one of my larger quilts.  This quilt has been a long time in the process.  I appliqued most of the blocks in 2005, some may have been finished in 2006.  This quilt is from the book Horn of Plenty for a New Century.  There isn’t much original in my version.  I loved the quilt the way it was, so it is even quilted the same.  This is the 3rd large quilt I have appliqued, but the first I’ve actually managed to finish.

This is also the quilt I was whining about on March 30 when the fabric ran while washing out the marks.  There are still a few faint spots that even a bleach pen wouldn’t take out. 

The quilt is quilted with So Fine Thread and has Hobbs Wool batting (my favorite for my quilts).  Without further ado here is the latest quilt to come off the UFO list.

fruit-basket

I’m including pictures of a few of the blocks.  There are 18 total, but I won’t bore you with all of them.

 

fruit-basket2

fruit-basket-3

fruit-basket-4

Crosshatching is probably one of my least favorite things to do on a longarm.  I marked this whole quilt and I still couldn’t get it perfect.

fruit-basket-5

fruit-basket-6

I even managed to get a label on it.  I’m calling it Fruit Basket Upset because  things just didn’t go right at the end.  The embroidery design is from the Bernina Collection “The Good Live by Debbie Mumm.”

fruit-basket-label-blog

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 04 2009
Vicki W

I’m sorry you had so much trouble with it but I think it turned out great!

27 04 2009
Allie

This is stunning!!!!!!! I can see why you’d keep it forever, it’s really beautiful – I’d keep it too!

3 05 2009
Made It « Welcome to

[…] used the back baste applique method for all the blocks in this quilt and also for all the blocks in my Hearts and Flowers quilt (I’m still trying to decide […]




