Are We Finished?

20 12 2008

 

stacked-snowmenI started these guys last Saturday night, too. ( It should be obvious by now I have a short attention span.)  I worked on them a little bit each night until early Thursday morning when I put what might be the finishing touches on them. 

The pattern is from Sweet Dreams Patterns.  I picked it up at some quilt show over the last few years.  I realized when I was pulling up the link I have several of the patterns and have already made a few.  I also found another one I “need!”  I followed the pattern for the most part, but improvised if I didn’t have the correct supplies.  The pattern said to sew the buttons on after stuffing the snowmen.  I maybe crazy, but I’m not going to that much trouble.  I tied bits of pearl cotton through the button holes and glued them on.  Also the wire for the ear muffs was just supposed to be a black 16 gauge wire.  I didn’t have that, but I did have silver wire and instead of one strand, I wrapped it around the handle of a wooden spoon to make the ear muffs.  I thought I was going to have mutiny on my hands when I went to put the second snowman on top of it.  All three males in the house were opposed and thought the snowmen should stay separate to save the spring.  I vetoed the vote.  I bought the pattern because I LIKED the stack!  The snowmen are supposed to have twig arms, but I think I like them without.  Finally there was supposed to be a rusty tin star on the top hat.  Apparently, rusty tin is no longer in.  I couldn’t find any anywhere I looked in town.  That’s alright, he looks fine without it.  So are they finished, probably because I’ll be moving on to something else  to fit my attention span.

Actions

Information

One response

20 12 2008
Sheila Kellogg

You can always get rusty tin from Dad! 🙂




