Garden Quilt Top Pieced

1 09 2008

Some of you may have noticed I added a page to my blog sometime ago called “Block a Day.”  If you missed it it is at the top of the screen directly below the blog’s title and to the right of the link for the “About” page.  I challenged myself to paper piece one block a day on a Garden Quilt from an old Quilt Maker issue.  I didn’t keep up with exactly one block a day, but I was pretty close.  I finished the last of the paper pieced blocks on August 15.  All that remained was the setting blocks and the borders.  So here is the reveal —

The top is not complete.  I will be adding embroidered bugs.  As much as I dislike paper piecing (hate removing the pattern after I’m finished), this was a fun quilt.  I used lots of very small scraps.  I didn’t buy any fabric.  However, it wasn’t all from my stash.  My sister pieced one of these quilts a year or two ago, and I quilted it for her.  My price was that she send me the browns she used.  I didn’t think I had very much brown, but I was wrong.  I collected a fair quantity of brown while searching for just the right fabrics for my “All God’s Critters Got a Place in the Choir” quilt.  I still used some of Sheila’s fabric.

I left the measuring tape in the picture to give an idea of scale.  The quilt is only 30 inches high.  All the squares for setting strips and nine patches are 1 inch.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 09 2008
Suzanne

Oh how cute!

3 09 2008
Patty

I love this quilt….where do I find the pattern?

23 09 2008
Karen

That’s a beautiful quilt!




