Another UFO (Unfinished Object)

27 06 2008

I managed to work several hours this week on a customer quilt and finished it at midnight on Wednesday.  I expected to still have a lump in my leg, but to be able to do pretty much what I wanted.  Not so, those hours at the quilting machine resulted in swelling from my knee down to my ankle.  So I’ve tried to be a little better about staying off the leg more for the last two days. 

Which means I had time to read a book.  I had placed a hold at the library on “Stolen Innocence” and read it almost straight through.  I put it aside at around midnight last night and finished it this morning.  It was a very informative book and well written.  It made me stop and think about how much influence one’s upbringing has upon how they are able to react in various situations.  I applaud the author and many of her brothers and sisters for having the courage to walk away from everything they had ever known.

On the sewing front, I finished another UFO top.  I mentioned my play date with friends a few weeks ago.  I had pulled out all my Stack N’ Whack blocks to take along for show and tell.  I haven’t put them away yet and one of the projects was calling to me.  So rather than putting it away I finished the top this week.

I started this project in May 2001 when Bethany Reynolds was in town teaching at one of the local guilds.  I had already worked on several Stack ‘n’ Whack projects prior to that date, but took the class anyway.  This quilt is from her “Stack ‘n’ Whackier” book.  When I pulled the project this week I already had most of the small hexagons pieced and two of the large hexagon units and well as almost all the cutting.  I pieced the remaining seven hexagon units and put it all together.

My only regret on this project is the quality of the fabric.  When I took the class I wanted to do a blue and yellow quilt.  Unfortunately, none of the quilt shops had appropriate fabric at the time.  I found this print at JoAnn Fabrics.  I guess I have become a fabric snob.  There is a dramatic quality difference between JoAnn’s fabrics and quilt shop fabrics.  I’ve seen how poorly some of the cheaper fabric wears.  Oh well, the top is done and added to the “to be quilted” pile.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 06 2008
Vicki W

I think it’s very pretty!

30 06 2008
Mary

I agree with Vicki, it is pretty and I’m not usually a fan of Stack and Whack quilts.

1 07 2008
kimzquilts

Wow! Beautiful! I’m inspired!




