MQS – My Day 1

14 05 2008

Today was my first full day at MQS 2008.  I took a class from Irena Bluhm & Paula Platter from 8am – 3pm.  The title of the class was Machine Applique with Whole Cloth Design.  For the first couple of hours Paula taught us her method of drafting stars using the star generator she designed.  We did our star block using an applique method.  The generator can also be used for paper pieced blocks.  It worked out very well, but since I already own Renae’s Rays I think I’ll stick with it.  I think Renae’s Rays are more flexible, but you get what you pay for.  For the last three hours Irena talked about marking our quilting designs and showed us a lot of her original designs.  We used those to come up with our own wholecloth design.  She also demonstrated how she uses colored pencils to color her quilt.  I need to finish marking.  I would definitely recommend a class with these ladies.  After attending MQS five different years, I was finally the lucky winner of a door prize in this class.  I received a copy of Irena’s “Blooming Background Designs.”

I went straight from class to the MQS shopping frenzy.  I didn’t come to MQS last year and in all previous years it was just the “sneak peek” on Wednesday.  This year there weren’t any classes during this time so lots more people than in previous years.  There were also special offers by several vendors during that time period.  I was fortunate, many of the vendors from whom I planned to make purchases had specials tonight.  So, I think my shopping is pretty much done.  My credit card is smoking!  I have a class with Jamie Wallen tomorrow morning, then I have until Friday noon to take in all the quilts.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 05 2008
rondabeyer

Gorgeous, I wish i were there also, can I whine on your blog?????? Love what you are designing, I can’t wait to see ti quilted… Enjoy yourself, and thanks for sharing…

16 03 2009
Ready for Some Color « Welcome to

[…] has given me the incentive to quilt up some of my quilts.  I took a class from Irena Bluhm at MQS last year and machine appliqued the center of this quilt and marked the quilting designs using drawings she […]




