Quote for the Day

6 05 2008

“Nothing is easier than fault-finding; no talent, no self-denial, no brains, no character are required to set up in the grumbling business.”—By Robert Work, Our Times, July 1949.

The question for myself and God is how do I love someone despite that type of mentality.  God hasn’t called us to like, but to love — to have the best interests at heart for anyone no matter the circumstances.  I’ve spent a great deal of time reminding myself that God is in control, and praying for Him to change me.  That is really the only person I can ask Him to change.

I promise the next post will be something lighter.  This may be coming from lack of sleep and may disappear from the web at some point.

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 05 2008
Jan

Well, I’m thankful you posted that one. I hadn’t heard it before and it’s a good one. How do you love someone with that mentality? Tough but I think it’s when you realize love is a decision of will. I will do no harm, I will treat them with respect, I will treat myself with respect and not get drug into it etc. Kindess & compassion with good boundaries and a good sense of worth. Something I suspect you have 😉

6 05 2008
Dorothy

There are lots of difficult people out there that are hard to love, aren’t there? Don’t remove the post – it’s helpful to be reminded now and again!

6 05 2008
bsjquilt

That is a great quote! If you ever figure out how, let me know. We just can do our best.

7 05 2008
rondabeyer

Thank You for this quote, it is wonderful, I attempt to do this everyday since my son’s death, somedays it is very easy some days I just cannot but I do believe that God has the power… A friend of mine gave me a book to read “The Shack” once I started reading I could not stop, my daughter is now reading it and has the same problem, a sad story with a revelation from God, to forgive and give our trust and lives to him to help us through the rough times, I recommend this book to so many who have suffered loss and have lost their way with God. Thanks Sonya for this lovely reminder, just at a time that I need it… God Bless




