Cooking

5 04 2008

It seems to me, there are those that cook and those that are cooks.  I am the former.  I cook out of necessity, not because I particularly enjoy it.  I search for recipes that look good, test them and if the general consensus is a thumbs up they go into my repertoire.  At some point I may choose to make slight modifications to the recipe, but that is about the extent of my creativity with edible ingredients.

My sister on the other hand is the latter.  She actually seems to enjoy cooking.  Yes, she does use recipes, but she will also make up a meal just pouring various ingredients into the mixture.  My grandma could do that, too (She made a wonderful grape pie once — I think I ate most of it, but she didn’t use a recipe so it is gone forever).  Sheila (The Sister) will actually choose to cook rather than going out to eat sometimes.  Not me!  There are times Sheila can’t share a recipe because she doesn’t remember what she used.  She makes a mean spaghetti sauce and I actually made her measure and write down the ingredients once.  It’s on an index card for my use and she didn’t even recognize it as her recipe when she was here.

If you would like to try a good spaghetti sauce or if you need a meal for a vegetarian this might be for you.

Sheila\'s Spaghetti Sauce Sheila’s Spaghetti Sauce

1 medium Onion, chopped

1 can Mushrooms or about 1/3 cup sliced fresh Mushrooms

2/3 can Vegeburger

1 to 2 Tbs. dried Parsley Flakes

1 tsp. Onion Salt

1 tsp. Sweet Basil

1 tsp. Oregano

1 tsp. Cumin

¼  tsp. Garlic Powder or 1 or 2 cloves garlic minced

1-1/2 tsp. Italian Seasoning

Approx. 32 oz. Tomato Sauce

½ cup water

Saute onion, (fresh garlic if you use it), mushrooms and vegeburger.  Add remaining ingredients and simmer together.  Serve over spaghetti noodles (Whole Wheat are a great option.)

I do make some slight modifications.  Sheila cuts all onions into miniscule particles, I just chop them up. I usually leave the mushrooms out because one member of my family won’t even walk by them in the store.  He is disturbed by their “eyebrows.”  I use either Loma Linda Vegeburger or Worthington Vegetarian Burger.  What is it?  It looks like this —

You can saute the onion, mushrooms and garlic in water if you are trying to reduce fat and add the burger at the very end.  The whole wheat spaghetti is also my suggestion.  Once you get used to it the normal spaghetti doesn’t taste as good.

My children are thrilled whenever I make this homemade sauce rather than opening a jar.

Actions

Information

One response

13 04 2008
Londa (The Sister's Friend)

“The Sister” is seriously disturbed…preferring to cook her own birthday meal instead of going out to dinner like a normal person would…




