Digitizing Auto Applique in Bernina Embroidery Software V.5

14 03 2008

There has been discussion on how to use the Auto Applique feature in the Bernina Embroidery Software on one of the email forums I read.  This is the subject I taught this week at software club, and I was trying to answer some questions through email.  However, they say a picture is worth a thousand words.  How much is a video worth that includes words?

 I sat down and created this very quick video on using the Auto Applique feature.  I was talking and working fast to keep it within the 10 minute limit for YouTube.  I didn’t want to have more than one part.  Please be aware there is much more you can do with the applique.  The class I taught on Wednesday was 2 hours, but this should get people started.

Another caution, I am showing blanket stitch as the cover stitch in the video.  If your pieces have sharp points or tight curves you may need to reduce the width and length of the cover stitch.  At some point you may need to switch to a satin cover to get good results.  If the pieces are pointy enough you may want to digitize them as embroidery objects.

I wish the videos maintained their clarity when uploaded to YouTube, but I guess you get what you pay for.

Actions

Information

10 responses

14 03 2008
Diane Obernesser

Great presentation. Is there a way I can save this to my computer for future reference? I know I won’t remember everything later. Thanks. Peace, Diane

14 03 2008
atbquilting

I don’t think there is a way for you to save it to your computer. It will be staying here and it is actually loaded on YouTube any time you want to watch it.

14 03 2008
Lorraine

Great video, and there is enough here for me to run with it. Thanks so much for putting this up.

14 03 2008
Marcia Smith

I am very impressed with the “short and thorough” lesson you gave on applique. I have taken quite a few software lessons in digitizing and you did a great job! Thank you – from all of us!

15 03 2008
Jeanettte

Enjoyed your video. Glad you are on the QSS group and wish you’d join the 430,440, 630, 640,730 Yahoo group also! As busy as you are, you might not have time!

16 03 2008
Kris

I loved this!! what a help! Thanks so much for taking the time. I’m going to go try it for a baby quilt block I need to make. This is a feature I just really have not even tried to use, I’ve always just done it myself and this is so much quicker and the printed templates what a gift to learn about that!!

20 03 2008
Evelyn Townsend

I enjoyed the video very much. I am motivated to try this. I have just begun to play with the embroidery unit on my Bernina, and I am loving it! I also love to quilt with applique and now I can do both! Embroider, applique and quilt. Thanks so much.

25 03 2008
Anne Johnson

Sonja,

Oh how I wish I lived closer to you and could take your software classes. Easy to understand and fantastic directions! Thank you very much for being so generous with your work.

31 03 2008
Joleen Morgan

great video of how to do applique. thank you for sharing with us. Joleen

19 06 2008
Denise

Wow, I was looking for some embroidery stuff for my new machine. I am still learning. I have not tried applique and this is enough to get me going. Short and sweet. Thanks!!!!




