Never Ending Quilt … Finished

10 03 2008

It was starting to get ridiculous the length of time this quilt was on my machine.  Yesterday I “chained” myself to the machine until I finished.  The quilting on this quilt isn’t particularly spectacular.  There was just a lot of SID work and trying to decide what to do.

folk-art-flowers.jpgThis quilt was made by Cindy Thomas.  She is a pattern designer under the name Colorado Creations.  She also works and teaches at Ruth’s Stitchery.  This quilt is one she taught in block party last year.  The patterns are Folk Art Flowers from The Stitch Connection.  Cindy added loads of hand embroidery and beaded embellishments, which is what she was teaching in the block party.

The pattern called for a light weight batting and crosshatching the background for each block before doing the applique.  That was part of the quandary on this quilt — what to quilt over that?  I ended up doing a loose echo.  Cindy chose to do a plain border because she wanted the embellishments to be what really stood out.  I tried to keep the quilting simple also.

teapot.jpg This is a close up of one portion of the quilt.  I was in Cindy’s block party and this quilt is one of my UFOs.  I selected brighter colors for my quilt and it is still a long way from finished.

 

 

I did add a few leaves in the quilting.  This is a design I came up with for this quilt.

border.jpg

I delivered the quilt this afternoon and she was very happy with it.  She called a few minutes ago.  It always makes me nervous when a customer calls after they have their quilt.  She was calling to say when she went to square the quilt up, it was already perfectly square.  I’m glad, but I can’t really claim all the credit.  I did fuss with it because of all the embellishments, but I wasn’t measuring it as I went along.

I have two more of these from block party scheduled over the next few months.  Sigh …

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 03 2008
Folk Art

Great job. The quilt looks awesome. The flower patterns are lovely. I think it needs a lot of patience to make one. Thanks for sharing the images.

29 04 2008
Another Folk Art Flowers Quilt « Welcome to

[…] in a block party at Ruth’s Stitchery by Jean.  I discussed the designer etc. in this post.  This quilt is a different colorway and it is interesting to compare the difference with the […]




