Slow and Steady Wins the Race

18 01 2008

I don’t feel like I have much to write about this week.  I’ve made bits of progress on a couple of projects and that was what reminded  me of my title.  I imagine most of you have heard Aesop’s Fable The Tortoise and the Hare.  In the story Hare is very fast and believes he can win any race.  Tortoise of course is slow, but he accepts a challenge to race Hare because he is tired of Hare’s bragging.  Hare takes off at top speed and eventually decides he is so far ahead he is guaranteed to win the race and settles down for a little nap.  Meanwhile Tortoise keeps plugging along.  When Hare wakes up from his nap and sees Tortoise in the distance.  Hare races to catch up, but Tortoise wins the race.  The moral of the story in some versions is “Slow and Steady Wins the Race.”  I think I have been slow and steady this week.

My Lone Star quilt seemed to go over well in Color Class on Wednesday even though it wasn’t quilted.  I don’t recall any constructive criticism. 

I continued to work on a customer quilt that feels like it is taking forever. 

I did pull out  my “Horn of Plenty for a New Century” quilt which is from the book by the same name written by Kathy Delaney.   This is one of the quilts from my UFO list.  The quilt was originally designed by  Eveline Foland in 1932 as a series quilt for The Kansas City Star.  My blocks are finished and joined together and have been for at least two years.  I also had the scallops and leaves appliqued on all four borders.  This week I attached the borders to the body of the quilt and mitered the corners.  I think I had set it aside because I didn’t want to deal with the miters.  They weren’t a problem.  I did have to redraw the corner scallops to make them fit.  They are cut out and ready to applique to the corners.  Then there are 24 more leaves to applique and that quilt top will be finished.  I’ll post a picture when I get to that point.

I also continued to work on the borders of “All Gods Critters Got a Place in the Choir.”  This quilt is from a book of the same name which was published by Brandywine Design.  This particular book is out of print, but they have somewhat similar critter quilt books available.  (I also have their “Critters Dancing in the Moonlight” book which I plan to digitize and applique in the hoop on my embroidery machine.)  The applique in the center of this quilt is finished.  I still need to do all the embroidery details.  This week I finished appliqueing all the leaves that can go in the border before adding the center.  I also put the blue birds in the top of the tree and the turtle on the bottom corner.  They still need their embroidery details.  Remaining to do — the beaver, two butterflies and the words at the bottom.  Here a couple of pictures of this weeks work on this quilt.

img_0024.jpg  img_0025.jpg

Actions

Information




