Top Finished

11 01 2008

I put the last four seams in on the Lone Star Quilt on Wednesday night.  I needed to get it off the floor so I could clean up.  I didn’t suddenly get the clean gene.  The local longarm meeting was here yesterday and I needed to make at least an attempt at having a presentable area. 

img_0013.jpgI have been obsessed with that quilt top for the last two weeks, but unfortunately I have neglected customer quilts and have started to feel a little guilty.  Once the longarm group left I did put some time in on someone elses’ quilt.  This afternoon the Lone Star began beckoning again and I pressed the seams.  So here it is in all its glory.

I think it has to be finished since I have pretty much used up the bolt of black fabric I had on hand.  I still need to stay stitch the edges so they don’t stretch when I put it on the machine to quilt it.  When I started blogging about this quilt I asked if I had bitten off more than I could chew.  The answer it turns out is yes and no.  It will not be quilted by Wednesday so yes it was more than I could chew in the time period.  Can I finish it? Yes, so ultimately no I didn’t bite of more than I can chew.

After working my way through this quilt I can now give a hearty endorsement to the book “Lone Star Quilts and Beyond” by Jan Krentz.  I followed her directions exactly and the quilt lays flat.  No volcanoes, even the center where all eight diamonds meet is flat!  I’m a happy camper.

Actions

Information

6 responses

11 01 2008
AllenQuilts

It is BEAUTIFUL! Can’t wait to see it after you quilt it…it’s gonna be a fun one to quilt!

11 01 2008
Suzanne

That is really beautiful. I can’t wait to see how you quilt it!

14 01 2008
Jan

You did an amazing job on that!!!

17 01 2008
Cre8tiveQuilter

That is just amazingly beautiful!!! You did a great job!

17 01 2008
Bethany

WOW and double WOW. I love Lone Star quilts and yours is fabulous. I’m going to have to pick up that book. Again, wonderful job.

18 01 2008
Jill

This is gorgeous! I love the colors and it looks amazing!




