Digitizing Cross Stitch

7 01 2008

I spent today preparing for Software Club on Wednesday.  Frequently students have commented that they wished they could take me home with them.  So about a year ago, I started recording my classes using Camtasia Studio.  In no way, shape or form do I claim these videos are professional, but they are a way for the students to repeat the information again visually. This week we are going to go over the Cross Stitch portion of the Bernina digitizing software.  I did basically the same club about two years ago, but had never recorded the session.  I spent today recording.  The final video came to about an hour and seven minutes.  I’ve loaded a six minute excerpt for people to check out.  While the videos are far from professional, I really dislike how YouTube makes the quality look so much worse!

img_0007.jpgThe design I chose to digitize is a very simple one found on the DMC web site as a free cross stitch chart.  After digitizing the design I decided to see if I could get it to actually line up on cross stitch canvas.  The picture is the final results and considering I only spent 15 minutes on physically hooping and stitching it out, I am pretty happy with the final product.  Not perfect, but acceptable.

On the lone star front, I have eight seams left to go and the top is finished.  All the parts are finally cut out.  Hopefully before the end of the week I will have a top to show.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 01 2008
Pat

Hi Sonya,
I work with Sheila and we were talking digitizing today and she told me to check out your blog. Can you tell me what software you are using for digitizing? I’d really like to get started, but don’t know where to look. I have a Pfaff 2140 and the original software that came with it, but I think I need something a little more powerful. Have any ideas? Thanks!

By the way…LOVE your blog!

9 01 2008
atbquilting

Hi Pat,
I use Bernina Embroidery Software V.5 because I have a Bernina. I started using their software with V.3. I really like Bernina’s software, but I have also spent a lot of time playing with it. The Bernina software is object based rather than stitch based. You can digitize designs and save them in a format for the Pfaff with the Bernina software as long as you have some way to transfer them to your machine.

The only other digitizing software I have really played with was the very first Pfaff software that came out originally for the 1475. That was before the hoop embroidery was available. I did upgrade one time and could digitize hooped designs, but didn’t have a machine that stitched them at that time. I’m sure Pfaff’s software has come a long way since that time, but I never did a lot with it. It was stitch based so you had to input each stitch. I don’t know if that is still the case.

Each sewing machine brand probably has their own version of software and if you have good dealers they should be able to demonstrate if for you and let you play with it.

There is also commercial software available. I thought the Bernina software was expensive but packages like Wilcom are considerably more.

I don’t know if I really have answered your question since Bernina is the only one I can really carry on an educated discussion about.




