Biting off more than I can chew?

28 12 2007

The due date for the next color class project is looming less than three weeks away.  For this project I can choose from the following color schemes:  Double Complements, Double Split Complements and Split Complements.  We are not to use any of the colors we used in the last two projects.  Before I could start on my project I needed to figure out what color combinations I could use.  So that is all I accomplished last week — a list of all possible combinations for my project.  These are the combinations:

  • green, red, yellow & violet
  • blue, orange, red & green
  • violet, red violet, yellow green & yellow
  • red violet, red, green & yellow green
  • yellow green, red, red violet & violet
  • green, red orange, red & red violet
  • red violet, green, yellow green & yellow
  • yellow green, red & violet
  • green, red orange & red violet
  • red violet, green & yellow
  • red orange, blue & green

Just looking at my lists I decided the third combination was the one that appealed to me most.  I need to decide what to do with those colors and didn’t have a clue what I wanted to do.  I start casually looking through my vast library of quilt books and came across Lone Star Quilts & Beyond by Jan Krentz which I have had for years.  I’ve mentioned my personal challenge is to try something new with each project.  I’ve never successfully completed a lone star quilt so why not?

img_2046.jpgI am at Ruth’s Stitchery on Wednesday when the doors open with color wheel and color tool in hand.  The goal — to find the fabrics I need in the back room for 40% off.  My friend Lisa and fellow color class student was also there so I bounced color choices off of her and she pulled one fabric for me — of course not from the back room.  Anyway, these are most of the fabrics I bought on Wednesday (another yellow and red violet didn’t make the cut once I played in Electric Quilt) all but the top two were 40% off. 

I came home and promptly got on Electric Quilt to start playing with design options.  My inspiration came from the book, but I’m not doing any specific quilt from it.  In my first coloration I had two fabrics from each family in the quilt, but the yellow seemed to dominate!  So I dropped one of the yellows and added another red violet and it was more pleasing to me.

img_2047.jpgTo keep this somewhat organized I followed Jan Krentz’s recommendation of numbering samples of the fabric.  I started out cutting strips and sizes following directions in the book, but quickly decided I wanted more diamonds in my star so my strip sets changed.  It just took a little thinking to make it all work out.  I had all the strip sets stitched together and then cut apart into rows before going to bed on Wednesday night.

Thursday morning it again took some thinking to lay everything out.  I certainly don’t want to have to rip out any seams with all those bias edges. 

img_2044.jpgThen came some very tedious matching and sewing.  I am following the recommendation in Jan’s book of pinning all the intersections and then machine basting just the intersections and checking them before putting in the final seam.  As of this moment I have five of the eight diamonds stitched together.  This is what the project looks like at this point.  The very top of the picture has a print out of my Electric Quilt design.  I’m fairly sure you can’t see the detail in this picture, which is fine since I don’t want to give away the whole design yet.  The quilt has already gotten much bigger than my previous projects and I only have 19 days until the next color class.  If this comes together as well as I’m hoping I want to take my time on the quilting.  So it is possible I’ve bitten off more than I can chew before January 16.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 12 2007
Jan Krentz

Great job – how does your quilt look??? Jan

30 12 2007
bsjquilt

That is gorgeous! How fun that the class makes you use colors you didn’t already use– a great way to get out of our color zones! Can’t wait to see how you finish it! Yes, you can do it!!




