No Black Friday for Me

23 11 2007

A few years ago I decided there weren’t any sales good enough to get me out of bed in the middle of the night to stand in line in the cold waiting to spend money.  Which means today was a relaxing day.  I quilted a small whole cloth and I am very pleased with the final results.  I will post pictures after it is bound.

img_1907.jpgAs soon as we finished eating yesterday, Jesse said something like “Thanksgiving is over, now we can decorate for Christmas.”  Jesse is the only other one in this family that gets excited about decorating for Christmas.  I didn’t start dragging Christmas decorations out last night, but I did start this afternoon.  The tree is up and the lights are on it.  We will add the rest of the ornaments over the next few days.  This is it lit up tonight. 

I’ve always liked to squint my eyes, and look at the tree in the dark.  Don’t pretend you don’t know what I’m talking about — really cool rays come off the lights.  OK that’s the weird fact for today.  I used to be adamant about having a real tree.  After all my Dad was a logger when I was a child and we would go out an cut our own usually for free.  I think the last time I remember going out the permit was $2 in Oregon.  When Guy and I got married we moved to Virginia — DC Metro area and I still had to have a real tree, but they were getting pretty expensive.  While we lived in California I didn’t put a tree up, because we took the boys to their grandparents’ houses in Oregon every Christmas.  The year we moved to Colorado, I finally succumbed and bought a fake tree.  There are benefits.  I can put it up as early as I want and it isn’t anymore a fire hazard the day I take it down than it was the day I put it up.  It has also more than paid for itself over the last eight years.  The drawbacks are no evergreen scent and the type of tree is the same every year.

My organization efforts continue.  This week’s Fly Lady zone was the master bedroom.  Our bedroom happens to house all our home office stuff, too.  I managed to make a large dent in the stacks of paper and layers of dust.  Guy even helped me clean off a shelf that housed software documentation.  Going through it we found we didn’t need most of it so the shelf is almost cleared.  Some serious layers of dust are also gone.  Guy did come down to the basement today and said “Fly Lady doesn’t have a zone for a sewing room/basement do they?”  I promise I will get to that part of the house too …….Eventually.

Actions

Information

3 responses

24 11 2007
rondabeyer

Christmas already, you are organized. Where in Oregon did you grow up??? I let my kids do the tree thing, if I feel the need then I go get a little minature Rosemary table tree, just too lazy….. Very pretty and I agree about the smell of a fresh cut tree vs the artificial ones…. One of my favorite memories of Christmas past! Happy holidays

24 11 2007
Linda S

I call Black Friday “Buy Nothing Day”. You couldn’t get me out in those crowds for anything. There’s nothing I want that badly. I love decorating for Christmas too, but haven’t done it in a while. I need to find some time for it this year.

Linda

26 11 2007
Suzanne

I’m with you Sonya — there is NOTHING that could make me go shopping on “Black Friday”. NOTHING. I like a good deal as well as anyone else, but give me a break……




