Next Color Project

26 10 2007

Today I should have been quilting  a customer quilt and I did pin one on the machine, but I spent part of the day planning my next color class project.  This one is monochromatic and it is due the middle of next month.  I came up with my idea when I found a group of blue green fabrics.

I played in Photoshop with one of the sailboat pictures I took while at Embarcadero Park .  The plan was to make the picture blue green, too.

Next I scanned the fabric I had purchased into EQ6 and started playing.  Part of my personal challenge while taking this class is to try techniques that are new to me.  I haven’t ever printed any photos on fabric so that is one of my challenges this month.  The other challenge is that if I use this drawing, those Storm at Sea  blocks are only 5″.  This picture is the one I think I have settled on.

 mono-project.jpg

 I was domestic today and baked bread.  I avoided baking during the summer because it was just to hot without air conditioning.  I mentioned in my previous post that we are trying to cut the fat.  We are also trying to increase whole grains.  Here is the recipe I used today as I modified it:

 5 cups warm water

2 T. yeast  Allow yeast to disolve in water.

2 cups regular oats

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup soy flower

1/2 cup vital wheat gluten

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (this replaces the oil)

5 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups bread flour

1 T. salt (or lite salt)

Combine all ingredients in large mixer and pulse machine until flour & liquid are mixed.  Add Whole wheat flour until dough comes away clean from the sides of the mixer.  Knead in machine about 10-12 minutes.  Cover and let rise until double.  Punch down and divide into 5 sections.  Shape into loaves and place in loaf pans sprayed with cooking spray.  Cover and let rise until double.  Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until the bottom is golden brown.

This bread usually is tall and light.  I was in a hurry today and put the loaves in the oven before they had come up enough because I wanted them to be finished before I left to pick up the boys from school.  It didn’t come up quite as high as usual, but is still good.

Actions

Information




