Friendship Strip Quilt

27 06 2011

The binding from yesterday wasn’t on a sample sandwich, it was a real quilt.  I put this quilt on my A-1 over Christmas break and when my neck went it sat for months!  Eventually I had a customer quilt I needed to do and finished this one to free up the machine.  Almost five years ago our quilt group exchanged autumn colored 2.5 inch strips.  I added a few more of my own.  The directions for this quilt came from Debbie Caffrey’s  Open a Can of Worms and is the Cobblestones pattern.  I added 1″ sashing around the pieced strips and cornerstones to the border.  Debbie’s book Open a Can  of worms which uses 2-1/2 inch strips throughout was around long before I ever laid eyes on a Jelly Roll or a Bali Pop, but it has great patterns that will work with those products.  Open Another Can of Worms also uses 2-1/2 inch strips. 

For the quilting I did continuous curves in all the pieced squares and freehand feathers in the fabric strips between the pieced strips and in the borders.  I did use a feather stencil to get an even spine, but the feather plumes are freehand. 

I’m not terribly fond of browns and oranges, but once I added a lot of green, this quilt became more pleasing to me.

The completion of this quilt takes another one off my UFO list!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 06 2011
Vicki W

I like this quilt a lot! Colors and everything!

30 06 2011
margaret gunn

love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

